Port-of-san-diegoState legislation in 1962 created the San Diego Unified Port District to promote commerce, navigation, recreation and fisheries for most of the tidelands in the five cities around the San Diego Bay (San Diego, National City, Chula Vista, Imperial Beach and Coronado). The Port acts as the landlord for 600 bayfront tenants and operates two marine terminals, two cruise terminals and 17 parks.

The Port adopted a Climate Action Plan in December, 2013. The Port has already begun to implement certain measures and continues to work toward sustainable leasing and cleaner energy sources beginning in 2014. 

Currently, the Port conducts a voluntary Green Business Network to its tenants, but we recommend that it go further and require specific green standards in all of its leases.